I Stock 523652215

Foto: Yuri Arcurs / iStock

PERFORMANCE AND DISCUSSION

FOREVER YOUNG. GOALS OF MODERN MEDICINE

With the Hippocratic oath, doctors commit themselves to curing diseases and maintaining health. But new technological possibilities could shift the modern concept of health and fuel an ancient human dream, namely, the fountain of youth. At 16:00, The AGENCY will approach the topic in a performance, after which (starting at 17:00) experts will discuss the state of current research and any questions raised in this regard.

08Dec2019

Futurium

Free admission.

Further informations:

  • Duration:1 hour and 30 minutes
I Stock 523652215

Foto: Yuri Arcurs / iStock

PERFORMANCE

In its lecture performance, the performance group THE AGENCY will be dealing with current phenomena connected with physical and mental self-optimisation and transhumanistic visions of the fusion of body and technology. Is there any subversive potential in the medical-technical expandability of human beings, or do these expansions take place according to the logic of increased efficiency and standardisation? On the one hand, new possibilities allow us to question the limits of what is considered natural. On the other hand, they also pose the danger that existing structures of power and standardisation will be carried over into these technologies.

The audience is invited to follow the stories of the prototypes and become part of their world, where interventions in the body are normal and the dream of eternal youth has already become real. Are you ready to become a prototype, despite these insights?

The Creators:

Lecture performance: Liina Magnea, Belle Santos, Rahel Spöhrer
Production management: Sofie Luckhardt
Sound
: Nile Koetting
Voice-over: Mona Vojacek Koper
Concept:
THE AGENCY + Rahel Spöhrer

DISCUSSION

Stem cell research, gene therapy or thymus therapy – research is providing a number of approaches that make a life of eternal youth seem possible. In addition, there are approaches to extend life far beyond the biological boundaries.

What is the current state of science? Is it possible, and desirable, to overcome the aging process and, ultimately, to control death? What are the goals of modern medicine? To enable as long a life as possible or as good a life as possible?

With:

Christoper Coenen, scientist at the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Elisabeth Gräb-Schmidt, Professor of Bio- and Technology Ethics at the University of Tübingen and member of the German Ethics Council
Torsten Nahm, transhumanist and Head of Data Science at DKB AG
Claudia Waskow, Professor of Immunology of Ageing at the Leibniz Institute of Ageing Research - Fritz Lipmann Institute e.V., Friedrich Schiller Universität Jena

Information

  • Venue: Forum I+II
  • Free admission
  • Registration not required
  • Event languages: German and English

ACCESSIBILITY

  • Futurium is a wheelchair-accessible venue.
  • The event is aimed at interested participants of all ages.
  • An induction loop system is available.
  • We’ll keep seats free for those of you who wish to sit close to the stage because of your visual impairment.
  • Spaces without seats will be available for wheelchair users.

PHOTOS / VIDEO RECORDINGS

Photos will be taken, and video recordings made, during the event. If you do not wish to be pictured, please let us know in advance.

I Stock 523652215

Foto: Yuri Arcurs / iStock

Performance und Gespräch

Lebenslänglich jung. Ziele moderner Medizin

Mit dem hippokratischen Eid bekennen sich Ärzt*innen zum Heilen von Krankheiten und dem Erhalt der Gesundheit. Doch neue technologische Möglichkeiten könnten den modernen Gesundheits-Begriff verschieben und befeuern einen alten Traum der Menschheit: den Jungbrunnen. Um 16 Uhr nähern sich The AGENCY in einer Performance dem Thema an, anschließend diskutieren ab 17 Uhr Expert*innen den Stand der aktuellen Forschung und die aufgeworfenen Fragen.

08.Dez2019

Futurium

Der Eintritt ins Futurium ist kostenfrei.

Weitere Informationen:

  • Dauer:2 Stunden
I Stock 523652215

Foto: Yuri Arcurs / iStock

PERFORMANCE

In der Lecture-Performance befasst sich die Performancegruppe THE AGENCY mit gegenwärtigen Phänomenen körperlicher und mentaler Selbstoptimierung und transhumanistischen Visionen der Verschmelzung von Körper und Technik. Liegt in der medizinisch-technischen Erweiterbarkeit des Menschen subversives Potential oder vollziehen sich diese Erweiterungen in den Logiken von Effizienzsteigerung und Normierung? Einerseits erlauben die neuen Möglichkeiten die Grenzen dessen, was als natürlich gilt, in Frage zu stellen. Auf der anderen Seite bergen sie die Gefahr, dass sich die bestehenden Strukturen von Macht und Normierung in diesen Technologien fortsetzen.

Die Zuschauer*innen sind eingeladen den Erzählungen der Prototypes zu folgen und Teil ihrer Welt zu werden, in der Eingriffe in den Körper Normalität und der Traum ewiger Jugend bereits Realität sind. Sind Sie nach diesen Eindrücken ebenfalls bereit ein Prototype zu werden?

Die Macher*innen:

Lecture Performance: Liina Magnea, Belle Santos, Rahel Spöhrer
Produktionsleitung: Sofie Luckhardt
Sound:
Nile Koetting
Voice Over: Mona Vojacek Koper
Konzept:
THE AGENCY + Rahel Spöhrer

GESPRÄCH

Stammzellenforschung, Gentherapie oder Thymos-Kur – die Forschung bietet eine Reihe von Ansätzen, die ein lebenslang junges Leben möglich erscheinen lassen. Ebenso existieren Ansätze, wie das Leben weit über die biologischen Grenzen hinaus verlängert werden kann.

Wie weit ist die Wissenschaft? Ist es möglich und wünschenswert, das Altern zu überwinden und letztlich auch den Tod zu beherrschen? Was sind die Ziele moderner Medizin: Ein möglichst langes Leben oder ein möglichst gutes Leben zu ermöglichen?

Mit:

Christopher Coenen, Wissenschaftler am Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Elisabeth Gräb-Schmidt, Professorin für Bio- und Technikethik an der Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen und Mitglied des Deutschen Ethikrats
Torsten Nahm, Transhumanist und Head of Data Science bei der DKB AG
Claudia Waskow, Professorin für Immunologie des Alterns am Leibniz-Institut für Alternsforschung - Fritz-Lipmann-Institut e.V., Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Informationen

  • Veranstaltungsort: Forum I+II
  • Freier Eintritt
  • Keine Anmeldung erforderlich
  • Veranstaltungssprache: Deutsch und Englisch

Zugänglichkeit

  • Wir sind ein rollstuhlgerechter Veranstaltungsort.
  • Die Veranstaltung richtet sich an Interessierte jeden Alters.
  • Eine Induktionsschleifenanlage ist verfügbar.
  • Wir lassen Plätze frei, solltet ihr aufgrund von Seheinschränkungen nah an der Bühne sitzen wollen.
  • Plätze ohne Bestuhlung stehen Rollstuhlfahrer*innen zur Verfügung.

Fotos / Videoaufnahmen

Während der Veranstaltung werden Fotos und Videoaufnahmen gemacht. Wenn ihr nicht abgebildet werden wollt, meldet euch bitte vorab.