Media slider04 Leitsystem

Photo: Julia Ebeling

Future for everyone

Accessibility

Welcome to Futurium! On this page, you will find all information regarding our almost fully accessible house of futures, the disabled-friendliness of which is to be further improved over time. We wish to make your visit as pleasant as possible. Please contact us via the Visitor Service or at the information desk. We will gladly prepare your visit together with you, and look forward to your feedback.

Media slider04 Leitsystem

Photo: Julia Ebeling

Access to Futurium

The postal address of Futurium is Alexanderufer 2, which is best reached on foot via the street Kapelle Ufer. The barrier-free main entrance is opposite the street. Here a tactile floor guidance system will lead you into the building. Futurium is also accessible via Margarete-Steffin-Straße in the north. Here a railing leads into the building.

Arrival by public transport

  • S-Bahn 3, 5, 7 or 9 to the main station, exit Washingtonplatz. There you will find elevators and a tactile guidance system.
  • Tram M5, M8 and M10 to Hauptbahnhof. Getting on and off the tram is via platforms.
  • Buses 120, 245, M41, TXL, M85, 147, 123 to main station. Get off at Europaplatz and cross the station building to Washingtonplatz.

It is about 350 meters from the main station building at the Washingtonplatz exit to the Futurium across the Hugo Preuss Bridge.

On the website of the BVG you can check your individual arrival for accessibility.

Parking spaces

For persons with disabilities, parking spaces are available on Alexanderufer. Please contact us if you wish to use them. Cars and buses can also stop at Alexanderufer. The Futurium entrance is only a few metres away.

At Futurium

Foyer

In the foyer, a tactile paving system leads from the entrance to the information desk. Here you can borrow small chairs, as well as wheelchairs and wheeled walkers. The lockers in the foyer have Braille lettering and are easily accessible for wheelchair users.

The tactile floor guidance system helps orientation in the foyer and leads from the entrances to the information counter.

IMG 3987

Photo: Ludmilla Ostermann

Exhibition

The exhibition of the future is accessible by lift on Level 1. The lift can be accessed on the ground floor next to the information desk.

Futurium Lab

The Futurium Lab in the basement is accessible by lift. The lift can be accessed on the ground floor opposite the entrance.

Event rooms

Our event rooms ‘Forum’ and ‘Studio’ are located on the ground floor and can also be reached via the easily accessible entrance. A wheelchair lift can be used to enable access to a stage platform. It is operated by trained Futurium staff, has a maximum lifting height of one meter and a maximum lifting weight of 300 kilograms. Prior registration is required in order to use the wheelchair lift. Our ‘Skywalk’ is located on the roof and is accessible by lift. It takes you once around the whole roof.

Lavatories

The lavatories are located on the ground floor of Futurium.

The low-barrier toilets can be found on the ground floor of Futurium.

IMG 3990

Foto: Ludmilla Ostermann

Assistance dogs

Assistance dogs are allowed throughout the Futurium building.

Medication

You can keep your medication bag by your side throughout the building.

People with reduced mobility

The easily accessible main entrance is only a few metres away from the street Alexanderufer. Within Futurium, a lift leads from the foyer to the exhibition on the upper floor and to the lab on the basement floor.

The range of formats offered in the Futurium Lab –workshops, guided tours, Open Lab Evenings and Open Lab Weekends – are suitable for wheelchair users.

At many points in the exhibition, seats are available for visitors to take a break. Small chairs, wheelchairs and wheeled walkers are available to borrow at the information desk in the foyer.

Visually impaired people

Five copies of our portable tactile orientation plan are available at the information desk in the foyer.

Assistance dogs and white canes are allowed throughout the Futurium building. For events that require participants to move around, we can provide assistance.

Blind people and those with visual impairments can inform themselves about the topics and layout of the exhibition at a tactile overview table, and also by means of text in larger type and Braille. The blind and those with visual impairments need to be accompanied through the exhibition.

Tactile tables give an overview of the exhibition.

IMG 3998

Foto: Ludmilla Ostermann

People with hearing impairments

On screens in the foyer, Futurium is presented in a short video in German sign language. At selected events, interpreters will translate language and music into sign language. You can find out for which events this service is provided on our events page and in the opening programme. For visitors with hearing impairments, permanently installed induction loops with audio and sound are available at every point in the exhibition and at events. They are signposted with the appropriate symbol. The configuration of the induction loops has been set at a fixed level. An appropriate hearing aid or headset with this function is required to adjust the volume. Please approach us directly at Futurium if you have any questions regarding the system. Registration is not required to use it.

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

People with learning difficulties

Our school workshops and drop-in formats at weekends are also suitable for people with learning difficulties. Information on the accessibility of our workshops can be found on the corresponding page listing what we have to offer.

Barrierefreiheit im Futurium

Foto: Julia Ebeling

Barrierefreiheit

Zukunft für alle

Herzlich willkommen im Futurium! Auf dieser Seite findet ihr alle Informationen zur barrierearmen Zugänglichkeit unseres Hauses, die auch in Zukunft weiterentwickelt wird. Wir möchten euren Besuch so angenehm wie möglich gestalten. Bitte sprecht uns über den Besucherdienst oder am Informationsschalter an, wir bereiten euren Besuch gerne zusammen mit euch vor und freuen uns über Feedback.

Barrierefreiheit im Futurium

Foto: Julia Ebeling

Zugang zum Futurium

Die Postadresse des Futuriums lautet Alexanderufer 2. Ihr erreicht es zu Fuß am besten über die Straße Kapelle Ufer. Der barrierearme Haupteingang liegt gegenüber der Straße. Hier führt euch ein taktiles Bodenleitsystem ins Gebäude. Auch über die Margarete-Steffin-Straße im Norden ist das Futurium zugänglich. Hier führt ein Geländer ins Haus.

Anreise mit dem öffentlichen Nahverkehr

  • S-Bahnen 3, 5, 7 oder 9 bis Hauptbahnhof, Ausgang Washingtonplatz. Dort sind Fahrstühle sowie ein taktiles Leitsystem vorhanden.
  • Tram M5, M8 und M10 bis Hauptbahnhof. Der Zu- und Ausstieg erfolgt über Bahnsteige.
  • Busse 120, 245, M41, TXL, M85, 147, 123 bis Hauptbahnhof. Hier steigt ihr am Europaplatz aus und durchquert das Bahnhofsgebäude bis zum Washingtonplatz.

Vom Hauptbahnhof-Gebäude am Ausgang Washingtonplatz bis zum Futurium über die Hugo-Preuss-Brücke sind es etwa 350 Meter.

Auf der Internetseite der BVG könnt ihr eure individuelle Anreise auf Barrierefreiheit überprüfen.

Parkplätze

Für Menschen mit Behinderungen sind Parkplätze an der Straße Alexanderufer vorhanden. Kontaktiert uns, wenn ihr diese nutzen möchtet. Autos und Busse können ebenfalls am Alexanderufer halten. Der Eingang zum Futurium liegt nur wenige Meter entfernt.

Im Futurium

Foyer

Im Foyer führt ein taktiles Bodenleitsystem vom Eingang zur Information. Dort können kleine Stühle sowie ein Rollstuhl und Rollator ausgeliehen werden. Die Schließfächer im Foyer sind mit Brailleschrift versehen, für Rollstuhlfahrerinnen und -fahrer sind sie gut erreichbar.

Das taktile Bodenleitsystem hilft bei der Orientierung im im Foyer und führt von den Eingängen zum Infotresen.

IMG 3987

Foto: Ludmilla Ostermann

Ausstellung

Die Zukunfts-Ausstellung ist auf Ebene 1 mit einem Aufzug zu erreichen. Der Zugang zum Aufzug befindet sich im Erdgeschoss neben der Information. Der Eintritt ist kostenfrei.

Futurium Lab

Das Futurium Lab im Untergeschoss ist mit einem Aufzug zu erreichen. Der Zugang zum Aufzug befindet sich im Erdgeschoss gegenüber vom Eingang.

Veranstaltungs-Räume

Unsere Veranstaltungsräume „Forum“ und „Studio“ befinden sich im Erdgeschoss und sind ebenfalls über den barrierearmen Eingang zu erreichen. Um den Zugang auf ein Bühnenpodest zu ermöglichen, setzen wir einen Rollstuhl-Lift ein. Er wird durch eingewiesene Mitarbeiter des Futuriums bedient, hat eine maximale Hubhöhe von einem Meter sowie ein maximales Hubgewicht von 300 Kilogramm. Eine Anmeldung hierfür ist erforderlich. Unser „Skywalk“ befindet sich auf dem Dach und ist mit dem Aufzug zu erreichen. Er führt einmal um das gesamte Dach.

Toiletten

Die Toiletten befinden sich im Erdgeschoss des Futuriums.

Die barrierearmen Toiletten findet ihr im Erdgeschoss des Futuriums.

IMG 3990

Foto: Ludmilla Ostermann

Hilfsmittel und Ausleihen

An der Information im Foyer können kleine transportable Stühle, ein Rollstuhl sowie ein Rollator ausgeliehen werden.

Assistenzhunde

Assistenz-Hunde sind im gesamten Futurium erlaubt.

Medikamente

Medikamentenbeutel können überall mit hingenommen werden.

Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität

Der barrierearme Haupteingang liegt nur wenige Meter von der Straße Alexanderufer entfernt. Im Futurium führt ein Aufzug vom Foyer aus in Ausstellung im Obergeschoss sowie das Lab im Untergeschoss.

Die Angebote im Futurium Lab wie Workshops, Führungen, Open Lab Abend und Open Lab am Wochenende sind für Rollstuhlfahrerinnen und -fahrer geeignet. Sitzgelegenheiten in der Ausstellung laden zum Pausieren ein.

Am Empfangstresen im Foyer können kleine Stühle, ein Rollstuhl sowie ein Rollator ausgeliehen werden.

Menschen mit Sehbeeinträchtigungen

An der Information im Foyer liegen fünf Exemplare unserer tragbaren taktilen Orientierungsplans aus.

Assistenz-Hunde und Langstöcke sind im ganzen Futurium erlaubt. Bei Veranstaltungen mit Bewegungsanteil bieten wir eine Führungsassistenz an.

Menschen mit Sehbeeinträchtigungen und Blinde erfahren an einem taktilen Übersichtstisch sowie mittels Text in größerer Schrift und in Braille das Thema und den Aufbau der Ausstellung. Menschen mit Sehbeeinträchtigungen und Blinde sind für den Gang durch die Ausstellung auf eine Begleitung angewiesen.

Taktile Tische geben eine Übersicht über die Ausstellung.

IMG 3998

Foto: Ludmilla Ostermann

Menschen mit Hörbeeinträchtigungen

Das Futurium wird auf Bildschirmen im Foyer in einem kurzen Video in Deutscher Gebärdensprache vorgestellt. Dolmetscherinnen und Dolmetscher übersetzen bei ausgewählten Veranstaltungen Sprache und Musik in Gebärdensprache. Dies ist auf unserer Veranstaltungsseite sowie dem Eröffnungsprogramm unter den betreffenden Veranstaltungen vermerkt.

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Für Besucherinnen und Besucher mit Hörbeeinträchtigungen stehen an jeder Station der Ausstellung mit Audio und Ton sowie bei Veranstaltungen fest verbaute Induktionsschleifen zur Verfügung. Ein entsprechendes Symbol weist darauf hin. Die Induktionsschleife sind fest eingepegelt worden. Es ist ein entsprechendes Hörgerät oder ein Kopfhörer mit dieser Funktion notwendig, um die Lautstärke anpassen zu können. Bitte sprecht uns vor Ort auf das System an. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Menschen mit Lernschwierigkeiten

Unsere Schulworkshops und unsere Drop-in-Formate am Wochenende sind auch für Menschen mit Lernschwierigkeiten geeignet. Die Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit unserer Workshops findet ihr auf der entsprechenden Angebotsseite.