Machina e X Vorschau

Foto: Karol Jarek.

Try out

VR-Game-Theater

Caretaker

With CARETAKERS, machina eX has created a game-theatrical installation that explores both responsibility in the age of hyper-intelligent machines and the future of medicine. It’s the first time that the artist group has worked with VR glasses, by means of which the audience will be offered insights into the lives of two figures who serve as test objects for the CARETAKERS system.

Machina e X Vorschau

Foto: Karol Jarek.

David

In the last few hours alone, at least 8000 people have subscribed to David's video stream - more than ever before. At last, digital technology is once again returning to the centre of public perception. In order to become a system tester, he had to give up some of his privacy principles, but never mind: clicks are clicks. His first consultation as tester in the CARETAKERS project is set to begin.

Tabea

Tabea sits in her windowless office and opens one of the boxes. A stethoscope, a dictaphone, disinfectant – nothing that she needs here. There are neither patients, nor nurses, nor examination equipment. She closes the box and searches within herself for good arguments. Her first shift as auditor in the CARETAKERS project is due to begin in three days’ time.

For about 1.7 million years, humans have been inventing technologies to overcome their own weaknesses. Our inventions have long since overtaken us in terms of strength, speed and accuracy, and have made our workforce superfluous. Intelligent translation machines, self-driving cars and computers that compose music herald the day when our own human intelligence, creativity and decision-making power could be overtaken.

It’s the year 2025 and Version 0.1 of a piece of medical software has been developed at a small research institute. By chance, the system detects an unexpected connection: it shows that growing up in a particular 32-square-kilometre valley in central Germany represents a risk factor of 14.2 for developing chronic bronchitis – a risk slightly higher than that caused by chain smoking. Hopes arise in the medical world: what if even more extensive patient data could be used to discover risk factors that are so outlandish they remain invisible to the methods of more traditional medicine?

With CARETAKERS, the game-theatre collective machina eX invites its audience on a journey into a fictional future in which a learning machine appears to revolutionise the world of medicine. David and Tabea are patient and doctor in a system that does not provide for direct contact between the two. They experience how their abilities are outpaced, how help is offered to them and responsibility taken out of their hands.

A conglomerate of developers, investors and pharmaceutical representatives gets involved in the project and announces a breakthrough seven years later. It is said that, using imagined cases in model structures, CARETAKERS has been set against the usual diagnosis and therapy-finding methods encountered in hospitals. In the majority of cases, the CARETAKERS system provided better diagnoses and treatment methods. Once everything is taken into account, the evidence presented in this regard – the interpretation of which is naturally complex – is conclusive. A heated public discussion flares up. The German Federal Government is put in charge and decides to carry out a test run.

On 5 December at 19:00, the audience will have the opportunity to have a discussion with the artists.

CARETAKERS is a cooperation between machina eX, Beardshaker Games and Futurium – with the kind support of articy draft.

Information

Duration: around 30–40 minutes
Venue: Forum
Language:
German
Tickets
: 4 euros, reduced price 2 euros
Registration:
required

Accessibility

  • Futurium is a wheelchair-accessible venue.
  • The event has a dynamic and lively format. It is aimed at interested participants of all ages.
  • The event uses Oculus Quest VR glasses. In the past, some users have experienced nausea as a result of watching the fast motion sequences in the VR glasses. The programming and total duration of the VR scenes in CARETAKERS has been designed and tested to avoid these effects so far as is possible.
  • Suitable for participants aged 14 years and up.
  • Spaces without seats will be available for wheelchair users.
  • People with visual impairments are welcome. VR glasses can be tested at Futurium in advance. Please contact us and we’ll try to arrange it: info@futurium.de

If there are any other access-related needs on your part, please let us know and we’ll try to find a solution: info@futurium.de.

Photos

Photos will be taken during the event. If you do not wish to be pictured, please let us know in advance.

No Results

Machina e X Vorschau

Foto: Karol Jarek

Ausprobieren

VR-Game-Theater

Caretaker

Mit CARETAKER zeigt machina eX eine gametheatrale Installation über Verantwortung im Zeitalter hyperintelligenter Maschinen und die Zukunft der Medizin. Dabei arbeitet die Gruppe erstmals mit VR-Brillen, mit deren Hilfe das Publikum Einblick in das Leben zweier Figuren bekommt, die dem CARETAKER-System als Testobjekte dienen.

Machina e X Vorschau

Foto: Karol Jarek

David

In den letzten Stunden haben 8000 Menschen Davids Videostream abonniert, mehr als je zuvor. Endlich steht digitale Technologie wieder im Mittelpunkt der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung. Um Tester des Systems zu werden, musste er ein paar seiner Grundsätze in Sachen Datenschutz aufgeben, aber was soll’s: Klicks sind Klicks. In drei Tagen beginnt seine erste Konsultation als Tester des CARETAKER-Projekts.

Tabea

Tabea sitzt in ihrem fensterlosen Büro und öffnet einen der Kartons. Ein Stethoskop, ein Diktiergerät, Desinfektionsmittel, nichts, was sie hier brauchen könnte. Hier gibt es keine Patienten, keine Pfleger, keine Untersuchungsgeräte. Sie schließt den Karton und sucht jetzt in sich selbst nach guten Argumenten. In drei Tagen beginnt ihre erste Schicht als Auditorin des CARETAKER-Projekts.

















Seit etwa 1,7 Millionen Jahren erfindet die Menschheit Technologien, um die eigenen Schwächen zu überwinden. Längst haben unsere Erfindungen uns an Stärke, Geschwindigkeit und Genauigkeit überholt und unsere Arbeitskraft überflüssig gemacht. Durch lernende Übersetzungsmaschinen, selbstfahrende Autos und Musik komponierende Computer kündigt sich an, dass auch unsere Intelligenz, Kreativität und Entscheidungskraft schon bald eingeholt werden können.

Im Jahr 2025 entsteht an einem kleinen Forschungsinstitut Version 0.1 einer medizinischen Software. Durch einen Zufall erkennt das System einen unerwarteten Zusammenhang: In einem 32 Quadratkilometer großen Tal in Mitteldeutschland aufgewachsen zu sein, stellt einen Risikofaktor von 14.2 für die chronische Bronchitis dar – etwas mehr als Kettenrauchen. In der Welt der Medizin ist eine Hoffnung geweckt: Was, wenn sich mit noch umfangreicheren Patientendaten Risikofaktoren entdecken ließen, die so abwegig sind, dass sie den Methoden der traditionelleren Medizin verborgen blieben?

Mit CARETAKER lädt das Game-Theaterkollektiv machina eX auf eine Reise in eine fiktionale Zukunft ein, in der eine lernende Maschine die Welt der Medizin zu revolutionieren scheint. David und Tabea sind Patient und Ärztin in diesem System, in dem kein direkter Kontakt zwischen den beiden vorgesehen ist. Sie erleben, wie ihre Fähigkeiten überboten werden, ihnen Hilfe angeboten und Verantwortung aus der Hand genommen wird.

Ein Konglomerat aus Entwicklern, Geldgebern und Pharmavertretern nimmt sich dem Projekt an und vermeldet sieben Jahre später einen Durchbruch. In Modellaufbauten habe man CARETAKER in konstruierten Einzelfällen gegen die Diagnose- und Therapiefindungsmethoden eines üblichen Krankenhausbesuchs antreten lassen. In der Mehrzahl der Fälle habe das System die besseren Diagnosen und Behandlungmethoden geliefert. Man legt Beweise vor, deren Interpretation naturgemäß komplex ist, die in der Summe aber schlüssig sind. In der Öffentlichkeit entbrennt eine hitzige Diskussion. Die Bundesregierung wird in die Verantwortung genommen und entschließt sich zu einem Testlauf.

Am 5. Dezember um 19:00 Uhr findet ein Publikumsgespräch mit den Künstler*innen statt.

CARETAKER entsteht als eine Kooperation von machina eX, Beardshaker Games und dem Futurium – mit freundlicher Unterstützung von articy draft.


Informationen

Dauer: ca. 30-40 Minuten
Ort
: Forum
Sprache:
Deutsch
Kosten:
4 Euro, ermäßigt 2 Euro
Anmeldung:
erforderlich

Zugänglichkeit

  • Wir sind ein rollstuhlgerechter Veranstaltungsort
  • Die Veranstaltung hat ein dynamisches und lebendiges Format. Sie richtet sich an Interessierte jeden Alters
  • Die Veranstaltung nutzt VR-Brillen des Modells Oculus Quest. Schnelle Bewegungsabläufe bei VR-Brillen haben in der Vergangenheit bei Teilen der Nutzer*innen Übelkeit erzeugt. Die Programmierung und Gesamtdauer der VR-Szenen von CARETAKER wurde so angelegt und getestet, dass diese Effekte so gut wie möglich vermieden werden
  • Geeignet ab 14 Jahren
  • Plätze ohne Bestuhlung stehen Rollstuhlfahrer*innen zur Verfügung
  • Menschen mit Seheinschränkungen sind willkommen. Es kann vor Ort ein Test mit einer VR-Brille durchgeführt werden. teilt es uns gern mit und wir versuchen sie zu erfüllen: info@futurium.de

Wenn es eurerseits weitere Zugangsbedürfnisse gibt, teilt sie uns gern mit und wir versuchen sie zu erfüllen: info@futurium.de

Fotos

Während der Veranstaltung werden Fotos gemacht. Wenn ihr nicht abgebildet werden wollt, meldet euch bitte vorab.