Beesley detail2

Photo: Sang Lee PhD

The (R)evolution Starts Here

Noosphere

Can architecture feel, react, live? To get a hint, all you need to do is enter Philip Beesley’s Noosphere. One step or gesture is enough to wake up this glittering, enchanted artificial forest. Like a curious child, the immersive installation reacts to visitors with vibrations, sounds, and patterns of light that spread through the complex structure like soft whispers.

Beesley detail2

Photo: Sang Lee PhD

Far more than the sum of its parts

The architect and artist Philip Beesley has spent more than four decades perfecting his ’living’ installations. More often than not, the results are surprising – even to Beesley himself – since they literally develop a life of their own. “New technologies like the Human Genome Project decipher biological processes and give us all the information sets that make up the natural world. With this information, makers, scientists, engineers and architects can – for the first time – use the latest digital and synthetic technologies to literally make living things. I think it’s extremely exciting and important to play around with these concepts and learn from nature,” states Beesley, while his team puzzles out how the 250,000+ parts of his Noosphere fit together.

Their precise interplay of architecture, chemistry, Artificial Intelligence, and sound is almost as complicated as the world it is designed to reflect. Countless microprocessors and tiny motors are suspended in the silky, airy mesh of woven steel and acrylic. Looking further, you’ll spot 3-D printed lampshades, made-to-measure glass vessels, wafer-thin foil leaves, and myriad sensors. As a huge fan of bionics and biomimicry [Link: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bionics], the artist deliberately copies concepts that are successful in nature. His extremely lightweight, skeletal scaffolds, for example, mimic the hollow bones of birds. Despite their low density, these scaffolds support substantial weight. Meanwhile, chemical ‘proto cells’ inside glass flasks simulate the origin of life.

Many cooks imnprove the broth

Something this complex takes a lot of expertise. Philip Beesley places a great emphasis on an intense exchange with lateral thinkers from a broad range of different disciplines. His Living Architecture Systems (LAS) collective not only comprises engineers and biologists, but also developers, psychologists, designers, futurologists, and artists like the avant-garde fashion designer Iris van Herpen. “With projects like these, we’ve moved far beyond the idea that one single person could really create something so profoundly immersive. Instead, collaboration means that we can build so many different parts together, cooperate, and arrive at something larger than any of us.”

Up to 40 experts are usually involved in the process, from initial sketch to injection mould and algorithm, to connect everything like a smoothly running nervous system. And the fun doesn’t stop once the installation is in place. Similar to the principles of evolution, Beesley’s works spawns their own descendants. Work by work, his installations become more complex and more refined. Even the featured sensors and microprocessors learn from the recorded data and experiences. “We’ve programmed a sense of curiosity into the software that is constantly searching for new behavioural patterns. So, the system’s reactions are always different. Nothing ever repeats itself.”

Life in the Noosphere

The ambitious, ever-shifting results not only look, sound, and feel ambitious and impressive, they also refuse to be pigeon-holed. The fascinating temporary state of Beesley’s career might not look like traditional architecture, but the principles could shape our future lives. The architect would love to replace today’s solid concrete slabs with open, living landscapes that sense, understand and communicate with us. Flexible forms that remain extremely resilient even when made from minimal resources.

Digital patterns anyone can use to create something new from very little. Buildings that redesign and even repair themselves. Will they actually be ‘alive’? Who knows. And who cares – as long as they make our own lives worth living.

Beesley detail2

Reif für die (R)evolution

Noosphere

Kann Architektur fühlen, reagieren, leben? Wer Philip Beesleys Noospherebetritt, bekommt eine leise Ahnung. Ein Schritt, eine kleine Geste, und dieser glitzernde, künstliche Zauberwald erwacht aus seinem Dornröschenschlaf. Wie ein neugieriges Kind reagiert die begehbare Installation auf Besucher*innen mit Vibrationen, Klängen und Lichtmustern, die sich wie ein Flüstern durch die komplexe Struktur verbreiten.

Beesley detail2

Weit mehr als die Summe der einzelnen Teile

Seit vier Jahrzehnten plant der gelernte Architekt und Künstler ‚lebendige’ Installationen. Die Ergebnisse überraschen ihn oft selbst, denn sie entwickeln, im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes, ein Eigenleben. „Neue Technologien wie das Human Genome Project entschlüsseln biologische Prozesse und stellen uns quasi einen Bauplan der Natur zur Verfügung. Damit können Wissenschaftler*innen und Ingenieur*innen zum ersten Mal biologische Prinzipien mit neuesten digitalen und synthetischen Erfindungen verschmelzen, um etwas Lebendes zu erschaffen. Ich finde es extrem spannend und wertvoll, mit diesen Konzepten zu spielen und aus der Natur zu lernen“, erklärt Beesley, während sein Team die gut 250.000 Teile der Noosphere zusammenpuzzelt. Ihr präzises Zusammenspiel aus Architektur, Chemie, Künstlicher Intelligenz und Sound ist fast so kompliziert wie die Welt, die sie spiegelt.

In dem feinen, luftigen Netz aus verwobenem Stahl und Acryl hängen unzählige Mikroprozessoren und Minimotoren. Aber auch 3D-gedruckte Lampengehäuse, maßgefertigte Glaskolben, hauchdünne Folienwedel und Sensoren sind hier zu finden. Ganz im Sinne der Biomimikry kopiert Beesley hier erfolgreiche Konzepte aus der Natur. Seine hauchfeinen, skelettartigen Stützelemente wurden beispielsweise hohlen Vogelknochen nachempfunden. Trotz ihres geringen Gewichts können sie enorme Belastungen aushalten, während chemische ‚Proto-Zellen’ die Entstehung des Lebens nachahmen.

Viele Köche veredeln den Brei

Was so komplex ist, braucht viel Know-how. Der intensive Austausch mit Querdenker*innen aus den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen ist Beesley sehr wichtig. In seinem lockeren Living-Architecture-Systems(LAS)-Kollektiv sind neben Ingenieuren und Biologen auch Programmierer, Psychologen, Designer, Futurologen und Künstlerinnen wie die Avantgardemodedesignerin Iris van Herpen vertreten. „Ganz ehrlich: Bei derart komplizierten Projekten kommt man allein nicht besonders weit. Erst, wenn alle unterschiedlichen Bereiche zusammenspielen und sich gegenseitig befruchten, kann man etwas wirklich Großes erreichen.“

Von der ersten Skizze bis zum Spritzguss, 3D-Druck und Algorithmus sind oft bis zu 40 Experten an der Entwicklung beteiligt, um alles wie ein gut eingespieltes Nervensystem zu vernetzen. Und gleich nach dem Aufbau geht es nahtlos weiter. Genau wie in der Evolution entwickelt sich jedes Werk aus dem Vorgänger heraus. Es wird immer weiter verfeinert und erweitert. Selbst die verbauten Mikroprozessoren und Sensoren lernen durch die aufgenommenen Daten und Erfahrungen. „Wir haben sie quasi ‚neugierig’ programmiert, damit sie immer neue Verhaltensmuster aufspüren. Dadurch reagiert das System auch immer anders und wiederholt sich nie.“

Leben in der Noosphere

Ganz schön ambitioniert. Und ganz schön beeindruckend, was dort direkt vor unseren Augen immer neue Form annimmt. Ob Haus oder High Fashion: Die spannenden Zwischenstände, die wir dabei zu sehen bekommen, wirken vielleicht nicht wie klassische Architektur. Doch ihre Prinzipien könnten in Zukunft unseren Alltag bestimmen.

Statt starrer Betonklötze schweben Beesley offene, lebende Landschaften vor. Landschaften, die uns wahrnehmen, verstehen und mit uns kommunizieren. Flexible Formen, die trotz minimalem Materialeinsatz extrem widerstandsfähig bleiben. Digitale Muster, aus denen jeder von uns mit wenig Einsatz und günstigen Materialien etwas Neues schaffen kann. Gebäude, die sich selbst umgestalten und sogar reparieren. Ob sie dann wirklich ‚lebendig’ sind? Egal – wenn das Ergebnis unser eigenes Leben noch ein Stück lebenswerter macht.