01 Futurium MOB Lab Davidvon Becker 4112 w

Credits: David von Becker

Playful prototypes for the city of the future

Fantastic Mobility

What could mobility look like in the city of the future? What kinds of vehicles will we use to get around? The installation Fantastic Mobility by BADABOOMBERLIN invites visitors at Futurium to develop playful prototypes of vehicles for the city of the future.

01 Futurium MOB Lab Davidvon Becker 4112 w

Credits: David von Becker

"Our aim is to rethink means of transportation through experimentation and play," say designers Daniel Huber and Alessandro Maggioni. Their studio BADABOOMBERLIN has developed the installation Fantastic Mobility for the Futurium Lab. For several years, the designers have been working on interactive installations that stimulate creativity and invite people to play. To do this, they bring together new technologies with long-established forms of art. In their works, sensors meet paper and brushes. This is also the case with Fantastic Mobility: here, an interactive installation is created by combining an analogue tile-laying game and digital image recognition.

Please wait, the image is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Credits: BADABOOMBERLIN

With Fantastic Mobility visitors can develop playful vehicle prototypes for the city of the future. To do this, different vehicle parts lying on a table are combined. A camera and image recognition software identify the combinations and assemble them in a ‘virtual garage’. By pressing a button, a hybrid vehicle then appears in a projected city of the future. The installation immediately invites you to play around. What would a car with sails look like? Or a submarine with bicycle propulsion? After a while, one realizes: each vehicle moves differently through the scenery. Because each part gives the vehicle different characteristics, resulting in advantages and disadvantages.

Please wait, the image is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Credits: BADABOOMBERLIN

Learning to prototype through play

The playful approach of Fantastic Mobility draws upon an important concept from research and design: prototyping. When prototyping, scientists and designers develop a simplified model to test an idea in practice. This model is called a prototype. It can show in a short time whether a theoretical idea is feasible in practice. The great thing about prototyping is that you don't have to know all the details of what you want to build. A rough idea is enough. Indeed, what is crucial about prototyping are the new insights emerging during building, testing and trying. Inspired by this concept, Fantastic Mobility also invites you to test your ideas for the future of mobility: will there still be cars in the city in the future? Will underwater vehicles perhaps become part of everyday life? And which kinds of engines will we be able to use in a sustainable future?

Please wait, the image is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Credits: David Weigend

Visions precede inventions

When you start prototyping, you soon realize that one needs a lot of imagination to envision the future of urban mobility. Indeed, prototyping can also be used to imagine different future scenarios, instead of looking for solutions for currently existing problems. Design fiction is one such approach that explores how everyday life might look or feel in different possible futures. It matters to explore these imaginative scenarios, because what is ordinary and everyday life to us today often started as such a scenario or vision. One could even say: visions precede inventions. But what kinds of visions do we have today for the mobility of the future? And how can we reconcile these visions with protecting our planet?

01 Futurium MOB Lab Davidvon Becker 4112 w

Credits: David von Becker

Spielerische Prototypen für die Stadt der Zukunft

Fantastic Mobility

Wie könnte Mobilität in der Stadt der Zukunft aussehen? Mit welchen Fahrzeugen könnten wir uns fortbewegen? Mit der Installation Fantastic Mobility von BADABOOMBERLIN kannst du im Futurium spielerisch Fahrzeug-Prototypen für die Stadt der Zukunft entwerfen.

01 Futurium MOB Lab Davidvon Becker 4112 w

Credits: David von Becker

„Ziel ist es, Fortbewegungsmittel durch Experimentieren und Tüfteln neu zu Denken“, sagen die Designer Daniel Huber und Alessandro Maggioni. Sie haben mit ihrem Studio BADABOOMBERLIN die Installation Fantastic Mobility für das Futurium entwickelt. Seit einigen Jahren arbeiten die beiden an Installationen, die die Kreativität anregen und zum Spielen einladen. Dafür bringen sie neue Technologien mit alten Künsten zusammen. In ihren Arbeiten treffen Sensoren auf Papier und Pinsel. Das ist auch bei Fantastic Mobility so: hier entsteht aus einem analogen Legespiel und digitaler Bilderkennung eine interaktive Installation.

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Bild wird geladen.

Credits: BADABOOMBERLIN

Ganz konkret können Besucher*innen bei Fantastic Mobility Fahrzeug-Prototypen für die Stadt der Zukunft entwickeln. Dafür werden unterschiedliche Fahrzeugteile, die auf einem Tisch liegen, kombiniert Per Kamera und Bildkodierung wird die Kombination der Teile in einer virtuellen Garage zusammengefügt. Mittels Knopfdruck taucht dann ein hybrides Fahrzeug in einer Zukunftsstadt auf. Der Einstieg ist spielerisch. Wie sieht wohl ein Auto mit Segeln aus? Oder wie eine U-Boot mit Fahrradantrieb? Doch dann wird es spannend: Jedes Fahrzeug bewegt sich anders durch die Szenerie. Denn jedes Fahrzeugteil gibt deinem Fahrzeug andere Eigenschaften. Daraus können Vorteile, aber auch Nachteile entstehen.

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Bild wird geladen.

Credits: BADABOOMBERLIN

Spielerisch Prototyping lernen

Das spielerischen Experimentieren folgt bei Fantastic Mobility einem wichtigen Konzept aus Forschung und Design: dem Prototyping. Wissenschaftler*innen oder Designer*innen entwickeln beim Prototyping ein vereinfachtes Modell, um eine Idee in der Praxis zu testen. Dieses Modell heißt Prototyp. Es kann in kurzer Zeit zeigen, ob eine Idee oder Lösung realisierbar ist. Das Tolle am Prototyping ist, dass man noch nicht alle Details, von dem was du bauen willst, kennen muss. Eine grobe Idee genügt. Denn entscheidend beim Prototyping ist, dass beim Bauen, Testen und Probieren neue Erkenntnisse entstehen. Auf diese Weise lädt auch Fantastic Mobility zum Nachdenken ein: Wird es in Zukunft in der Stadt noch Autos geben? Werden vielleicht Unterwasserfahrzeuge zum Alltag gehören? Und welche Antriebe können wir in einer nachhaltigen Zukunft überhaupt noch einsetzen?

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Bild wird geladen.

Credits: David Weigend

Vor den Erfindungen kommen die Träume

Beim Prototyping wird klar, dass wir Fantasie brauchen, um uns die Zukunft der urbanen Mobilität vorstellen zu können. Statt nach Lösungen für das Hier und Jetzt zu suchen, kann man Prototyping auch dazu verwenden um verschiedene Zukunftsszenarien zu erkunden. Design Fiction heißt ein solcher Ansatz, der untersucht, wie der Alltag in verschiedenen möglichen Zukünften aussehen oder sich anfühlen könnte. Denn auch was heute für uns Alltag ist, hat oft als Fantasie oder Traum angefangen. Man könnte sagen: vor den Erfindungen kommen die Träume. Doch von welchen Arten der Mobilität träumen wir heute? Und wie können wir diese Träume mit dem Schutz unseres Planeten in Einklang bringen?