Futurium David von Becker VB 7555

Photo: David von Becker

Learn more about our future-makers and their work

#FuturiumLab

The exhibits before your eyes in the Futurium Lab were created by future-makers from around the globe. We’ve compiled some interesting facts here about these people and their work – so read, listen, watch and try things out for yourself.

Futurium David von Becker VB 7555

Photo: David von Becker

Philip Beesley

Please wait, the image is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Philip Beesley's "Noosphere". Interactive Installation.

Photo: Jan Windszus


The Canadian Philip Beesleythinks beyond the boundaries of traditional building practice. The creator of the Noosphereis an avant-garde architect. He weaves together many disciplines in his exhibit: architecture, synthetic biology, artificial intelligence, mechanics, sound and light.

View it

In a TED talk (in English), Philip Beesley talks about his idea of living architecture.

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Hear it

Click hereto listen to an interview (in English) with the radio station CBC in which Philip Beesley talks about the feasibility of living architecture in the here and now.

Read it

In an interview (in English) with the CLOT magazine, Beesley talks about his Noosphere at Futurium, as well as the significance of shapes in his work, and reveals what sometimes gets in the way of his creativity.

For those who want to read more about another work by the architect, here’s a book tip: Sentient Chamber(in Englisch). This book documents the installation of the Sentient Chamber at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington in 2016.

Please wait, the image is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Noosphere imitates biological processes.

Photo: Sang Lee, Ph.D.

Try it out

Have you ever wondered how the peaks of the Noosphere were made? Have a go! All you need is a cutter knife and this template:

Certain Measures and CloudFill

Please wait, the image is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Credit: David von Becker

Photo: David von Becker

Our scrap and rubble has a lot to offer: what we dispose of thoughtlessly often still has great potential. Houses in particular are almost never recycled. Demolished buildings end up in landfills or as a mountain of rubble on the outskirts of town. This is where the Berlin-based Büro für Designwissenschaften Certain Measures comes in: They want to rebuild houses after demolition in a new form - with CloudFill.

View it

Pretty futuristic: Watch as the team from Certain Measures reassembles an old dacha - according to the plans of the CloudFill software.

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.



There are real treasures of raw materials hidden in our cities. The city as a mine? Precious raw materials are no longer to be extracted from the ground, but from the walls of demolition-ready buildings. See for yourself:

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Read it

CloudFill co-founder Tobias Nolte spoke to the business magazine brand eins about urban mining as a market of the future. You can find the article here.

On the website of the German Federal Environment Agency you can find more links and publications for download, like this one:

Hear it

Can you really do that? In the podcast Zündfunk Generator, a student tells how it feels to live in a house made of garbage. It is a project of the Urban Mining & Recycling Unit of the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Testing and Research (Empa). Listen in here.

RE:EDU AND THE SENSEBOX

Across Berlin, 50 senseBoxes are measuring environmental factors such as temperature, humidity or levels of fine dust and sending the data to Futurium.

Please wait, the image is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Across Berlin, 50 senseBoxes are measuring environmental factors such as temperature, humidity or levels of fine dust and sending the data to Futurium.

Photo: David von Becker


All over the world, scientists are carrying out research into important phenomena to better understand our world. The larger the project, the greater the requirement for eager eyes and helping hands. Citizen science also has its place at Futurium, in the form of the senseBox by re:edu. Working together with dedicated citizens, we have already set up 50 senseBox measuring stations across Berlin. The resulting data is displayed on an interactive relief map in the Futurium Lab. In real time, visitors can take a reading of the current air quality in the city and witness how fine dust levels or temperatures change in Berlin during the “rush hour” or in winter through emissions caused by “home heating” or “from day to night”.

READ IT

Citizen science is a type of open science in which projects are carried out with the help of – or even entirely by – interested laypersons. They report their observations, carry out measurements or evaluate data. That professional scientists can also benefit from citizen science is shown in this examplein which ordinary citizens recorded the singing of nightingales. Another good example is Happywhale. Here, members of the public sent in their holiday snaps to help identify whales.

Katja Machill is the project manager of the online platform “Bürger schaffen Wissen” (“Citizens Create Knowledge”). In an interview with Deutschlandfunk radio she talks about the importance of citizen science and explains how everyone can get involved.

VIEW IT

This film by the Helmholtz Association explains the history of citizen science. Who would have guessed that it all began more than 300 years ago?

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

On senseBox’s YouTube channel you’ll also find short films about how this device used by hobby researchers actually works.

HEAR IT

In this interview with Deutschlandfunk radio, hobby researchers talk about their projects and the value of citizen science for science as a whole.

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

TRY IT OUT

Curious? Want to get into citizen science? The platform “Bürger schaffen Wissen” (“Citizens Create Knowledge”) provides a list of citizen science activities in Germany and beyond. There you can look for a suitable project for yourself and get involved.

And if you’ve already taken a fancy to the senseBox, then here you can order it and start measuring the air quality from your own home station.

Johanna Schmeer and The Outside Inside

The Outside Insideexplores the relationships between the environment, nature and technology. Johanna Schmeer’s small-scale ecosystems present plants, fungi and lichens that possess special abilities to effect change in their environments.

If we want to bring about change, we must question and adapt our expectations for the future. Speculative design focuses on the invention of notional objects from a possible future with the aim of changing the discourse.

View it

French designer Nelly Ben Hayoun and British designer James Auger have declared war on traditional object design. Staying true to the original idea behind speculative design, they play with people’s fear of technology and combine the useful with the amusing. As a result, they’ve come up with objects such as a microchip telephone built in to a tooth or the Soyuz Chair, which simulates a journey to the moon. But take a look yourself:

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

The Netflix series Black Mirror tells stories from a dystopian near-future. The unifying element in the individual, unrelated episodes is the question: how are we humans going about our lives in our modern, technology-driven world? In this regard, Black Mirror places particular emphasis on how we’re dealing with developments and how the latter are affecting our everyday lives.

Read it

In an interview with the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Engineering future-maker Johanna Schmeer explains the importance of speculative design for research and innovation.

In a collection of short stories published by Suhrkamp Verlag and titled “Geschichten von Morgen” (Stories from Tomorrow) eleven authors tell us their visions of the near future. We read about a technology aimed at keeping the peace that calms stormy temperaments using pills or the sounds of the sea, and about an anaesthesia robot that takes on a life of its own. This very story, “Requiem” by Karl Wolfgang Flender, is currently nominated for the German Science Fiction Prize. Utopia? Dystopia? Decide for yourself. Click here to visit the publisher’s website.

In “Speculative Everything”, Anthony Dunne and Fiona Raby propose a type of design that can be used to create not only things, but ideas. To them, design is a means of speculating about how things might be - what possible futures might look like. The authors ask “what if” questions intended to provoke debate and discussion about what kind of future we humans actually want (and don’t want).

Try it out

“The Thing from the Future” is a fantasy game that challenges you to describe objects from a range of alternative futures. The game aims to generate entertaining but thought-provoking hypothetical objects from possible futures. Here you can learn more about the game created by SITUATION LAB. Or get playing straight away with the free edition that you can print out yourself at home:

Under the hashtag #FuturiumSchule we’ve provided easy-to-follow instructions that you can use to build your own object of the future.

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

kling klang klong and AI music

Ever conducted an orchestra? Or improvised with a professional musician? At three interactive points in the Futurium Lab, the creative sound artists kling klang klong give even musical amateurs a clever bit of help and let us all get creative simply by waving, pressing a button or playing the keyboard. Their supporting musician and star performer: artificial intelligence (AI).

Please wait, the image is currently loading and will be there shortly.

This is just one of the ways in which AIs can support creative processes. In what other ways can artificial and human intelligence get creative together?

View it

See here how you can get creative at Futurium with the exhibits by kling klang klong:

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

What is artificial intelligence actually capable of? How creative is it, and could it even end up outshining traditional flesh-and-blood artists? Here you can watch artists and experts exchanging ideas at the DW Global Media Forum.

Ivan P. Yamshchikov is a mathematician and physicist at the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences (MiS) in Leipzig. In this edition of public service broadcaster ARD’s Campus Talks he talks about how he teaches robots creativity and even makes them write poetry:

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Hear it

In the music industry, neural networks are bringing about far-reaching changes. With only a few clicks an algorithm can compose a romantic string quartet in the style of Franz Schubert. Try to guess for yourself which part of the music was written by a computer and which by a pianist:

00:0000:00


Okay, our next digital exhibit is not for the faint of ear. Death Metal – played by artificial intelligence. AI doesn’t hold back from any musical genre. Here you can listen to a livestream of the song Relentless Doppelganger:

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Read it

Yes, music can indeed be composed by machines, wrote the lecturer for piano and contemporary music Claudia Birkholz in a contribution for Science Year 2019, which was all about artificial intelligence. “But that need not scare us, because what the algorithm artists lack is creativity, is passion, is empathy.”

For BR Klassik, Antonia Morin takes us on an expedition through the different musical genres.

Try it out

The Drum Machine uses machine learning to organise everyday sounds. Similar sounds are arranged in close proximity to one another on a sound map. Did you know that a snorting buffalo sounds like a swinging door? If you let the markers move over the sounds, you can create entire drum sequences. By scrolling or searching for a general sound category, you create a piece of music consisting of four combined sounds. Give it a try – it’ll be worth it!

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Printed Tower – a Collaboration between Sven Pfeiffer and Caroline Høgsbro

Whether as robotic arms, complex sensor technology or drones – robotics has found its way into the architectural production process. Digital design and manufacturing methods have changed constructional and creative possibilities. Our project Printed Tower takes a look from different angles at the future possibilities of architectural design and production.

Read it

Engineers, architects and designers are working on promising approaches to making buildings and cities not only more environmentally friendly, but also more flexible and in keeping with people’s needs. Find out more about the future of architecture here.

In the field of ceramic building materials – going beyond the use of ceramic tiles for decorative purposes – a rich variety of applications has been developed. So comprehensive is this variety that three Harvard professors have even written a book about it. It’s called Ceramic Material Systems. Multifunctional products make their appearance in the book as a holistic ecosystem – from material extraction and product design, to the design process and constructional implementation, right up to options for the products’ reutilisation.

View it

Find out about the Printed Tower project and its creators in our video portrait:

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

So-called additive manufacturing has opened up new perspectives for the planning and assembly of buildings. This technology can be used to produce three-dimensional components according to predetermined dimensions and shapes – controlled by computers and without the help of any special tools. The Technical University of Munich (TUM) is simultaneously conducting research into two methods. See for yourself:

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Listen in

Robots have always fascinated us humans. Markus Knapp and his team produce the Robotics Lab Podcast (which, according to him, has the most listeners for a podcast on robotics topics) in which they pass on their experience, tips and tricks. Episode 111, for instance, deals with the world’s tiniest microelectronic robot and with a laser-assisted sandwich stacker. As you can see, the topics couldn’t be more diverse. In an interview with the creators of the podcast on the architects of the future, Knapp explains what fascinates him about robotics.

Ceramics is one of the important inventions of humankind. As early as the seventh millennium B.C., people in the Middle East were producing receptacles made of clay and water for storing liquids and grain, as well as for cooking food. Listen to the whole story here:

00:0000:00

History of Ceramics

Join in

This video will teach you how to build a simple robot arm all by yourself. A simple robot arm? Doesn’t really sound all that simple. But the Electronics Hub team explains it step by step. You can also find the building instructions here(in English).

Please wait, the video is currently loading and will be there shortly.

Futurium David von Becker VB 7555

Foto: David von Becker

Erfahrt mehr über unsere Zukunftsmacher*innen und ihre Arbeit

#FuturiumLab

Die Exponate, die ihr im Lab findet, stammen von Zukunftsmacher*innen aus der ganzen Welt. Hier haben wir für euch Wissenswertes rund um diese Menschen und ihre Arbeit gesammelt – zum Lesen, zum Zuhören, zum Zuschauen und Mitmachen.

Futurium David von Becker VB 7555

Foto: David von Becker

Philip Beesley und seine Noosphere

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Bild wird geladen.

Showcase-Installation: Philip Beesleys Noosphere.

Foto: Jan Windszus

Der Kanadier Philip Beesley denkt über die Grenzen der traditionellen Baupraxis hinaus. Der Schöpfer der Noosphere ist Avantgarde-Architekt. In seinem Exponat kombiniert er viele Disziplinen: Architektur, synthetische Biologie, künstliche Intelligenz, Mechanik, Klang und Licht.

Zum Anschauen

In einem TED-Talk (Englisch) spricht Philip Beesley darüber, was er unter lebendiger Architektur versteht.

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Zum Hören

Hört hier ein Interview (Englisch) mit dem Radiosender CBC, in dem er unter anderem über die Umsetzbarkeit der lebendigen Architektur im Hier und Jetzt spricht.

Zum Lesen

Im Interview (Englisch) mit dem Magazin CLOT spricht Beesley über die Noosphere im Futurium, die Bedeutung von Formen in seiner Arbeit und verrät, was seiner Kreativität manchmal im Wege steht.

Wer mehr über eine weitere Arbeit des Architekten lesen möchte, für den haben wir einen Buchtipp: Sentient Chamber (Englisch). Dieses Buch dokumentiert die Installation der Sentient Chamber in der National Academy of Sciences in Washington im Jahr 2016.

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Bild wird geladen.

Die Noosphere imitiert biologische Prozesse.

Foto: Sang Lee, Ph.D.

Zum Mitmachen

Habt ihr euch auch schon gefragt, wie die Spitzen der Noosphere entstanden sind? Probiert es aus! Alles, was ihr benötigt ist ein Cuttermesser und diese Vorlage:

Certain Measures und CloudFill

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Bild wird geladen.

Showcase-Installation: Certain Measures' CloudFill.

Foto: David von Becker

Unser Schrott und Schutt hat es in sich: Was wir gedankenlos entsorgen, hat oft noch großes Potenzial. Gerade Häuser werden fast nie recycelt. Abgerissene Gebäude enden in Deponien oder als Geröllberg am Stadtrand. Hier setzt das Berliner Büro für Designwissenschaften Certain Measures an: Sie wollen Häuser nach dem Abriss in neuer Form wiederaufbauen – mit der CloudFill.

Zum Anschauen

Ganz schön futuristisch: Schaut zu, wie das Team von Certain Measures eine alte Datsche neu zusammensetzt – ganz nach den Plänen der CloudFill-Software.

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

In unseren Städten liegen wahre Rohstoff-Schätze verborgen. Die Stadt als Bergwerk? Kostbare Rohstoffe sollen nicht mehr aus dem Boden, sondern aus den Wänden abrissreifer Gebäude gewonnen werden. Seht selbst:

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Zum Lesen

Mit dem Wirtschaftsmagazin brand eins hat CloudFill-Mitbegründer Tobias Nolte über Urban Mining als Markt der Zukunft gesprochen. Den Artikel findet ihr hier.

Auf der Seite des Umweltbundesamts findet ihr weitere Links und Publikationen zum Download, wie etwa diese hier:

Zum Hören

Geht das wirklich? Im Podcast Zündfunk Generator erzählt eine Studentin, wie es sich in einem Haus aus Müll wohnt. Es ist ein Projekt der Unit Urban Mining & Recycling der schweizerischen Eidgenössischen Materialprüfungs- und Forschungsanstalt (Empa). Hört hier mal rein.



re:edu und die senseBox

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Bild wird geladen.

50 senseBoxen messen in Berlin Umweltphänomene wie Temperatur, Luftfeuchtigkeit oder Feinstaubbelastung und schicken die Daten ins Futurium.

Foto: David von Becker

Überall auf der Erde erforschen Wissenschaftler*innen wichtige Phänomene, um unsere Welt besser zu verstehen. Je größer das Projekt, desto mehr prüfende Augen und helfende Hände werden benötigt. Auch im Futurium hat Citizen Science seinen Platz, in Form der senseBox von re:edu. In Berlin haben wir zusammen mit Bürger*innen bereits 50 senseBox-Messstationen aufgestellt. Die Daten werden im Futurium Lab auf einer interaktiven Reliefkarte dargestellt. Darauf können Besucher*innen die aktuelle Luftqualität der Stadt in Echtzeit ablesen, sehen, wie sich Feinstaub oder Temperatur in Berlin bei „Rush-Hour“, „Kaminaktivität“ oder „Tag/Nacht“ verändern.

Zum Lesen

Citizen Science ist eine Form der Offenen Wissenschaft, bei der Projekte unter Mithilfe von oder komplett durch interessierte Laien durchgeführt werden. Sie melden Beobachtungen, führen Messungen durch oder werten Daten aus. Dass davon auch Forscher*innen profitieren können, zeigt dieses Beispiel, bei dem Bürger*innen den Gesang von Nachtigallen aufgenommen haben. Ein schönes Beispiel ist Happywhale. Hier dienen Urlaubsschnappschüsse der Identifikation von Walen.

Katja Machill ist Projektleiterin der Onlineplattform „Bürger schaffen Wissen“. Im Interview mit dem Deutschlandfunk spricht sie über die Bedeutung von Citizen Science und erklärt, wie jede*r mitmachen kann.

Zum Anschauen

Dieser Film der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft zeigt die Geschichte der Citizen Science. Hättet ihr's gewusst? Sie beginnt vor mehr als 300 Jahren:

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Auf dem Youtube-Kanal der senseBox findet ihr zudem Beiträge darüber, wie das Gerät für Hobbyforscher*innen funktioniert.

Zum Hören

Hobbyforscher*innen erzählen in diesem Gespräch mit dem Deutschlandfunk von ihren Projekten und welchen Wert Citizen Science für die Wissenschaft hat.

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Zum Mitmachen

Und? Lust auf Citizen Science bekommen? Die Plattform "Bürger schaffen Wissen" hat eine Liste aller Bürger*innen-Aktivitäten. Dort könnt ihr nach einem passenden Projekt für euch suchen und mitmachen.

Und wenn es euch die senseBox angetan hat: Hier könnt ihr sie bestellen und mit der Vermessung der Luft zuhause beginnen.

Johanna Schmeer und The Outside Inside

"The Outside Inside" erforscht die Beziehungen zwischen Umwelt, Natur und Technik. Johanna Schmeers kleine Ökosysteme zeigen Pflanzen, Pilze und Flechten, die besondere Fähigkeiten haben, ihre Umwelt zu verändern.

Wenn wir Veränderungen bewirken wollen, müssen wir unsere Zukunftserwartungen hinterfragen und ändern. Spekulatives Design legt den Fokus auf die Erfindung spekulativer Objekte aus einer möglichen Zukunft mit dem Ziel, den Diskurs zu verändern.

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Bild wird geladen.

Johanna Schmeer, The Outside Inside; Foto: Christian Schmeer

Zum Anschauen

Die Französin Nelly Ben Hayoun und der Brite James Auger sagen dem gewöhnlichen Objektdesign den Kampf an. Im Sinne des spekulativen Designs spielen sie mit der Angst vor der Technik und verbinden das Nützliche mit dem Witzigen. Das Ergebnis: ein Chip-Telefon im Zahn oder der Soyuz Chair, der eine Reise zum Mond simuliert. Aber seht selbst:

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.


Die Netflix-Serie Black Mirror erzählt Geschichten aus einer dystopischen nahen Zukunft. Vereinendes Element der einzelnen, nicht aufeinander aufbauenden Episoden ist die Frage: Wie leben wir Menschen in unserer modernen, von Technik geprägten Welt? Dabei legt Black Mirror ein besonderes Hauptaugenmerk auf den Umgang mit Entwicklungen und wie sich diese auf den Alltag der Menschen auswirken.

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Zum Lesen

Im Interview mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut erklärt Zukunftsmacherin Johanna Schmeer, welche Bedeutung spekulatives Design für Forschung und Innovation hat.

In „Geschichten von Morgen“ (Suhrkamp Verlag) erzählen elf Autor*innen ihre Sicht auf die nahe Zukunft. Wir lesen von einer Technologie namens Friedenswahrer, die aufbrausende Naturelle mit Meeresklängen oder Pillen beruhigt oder von einem Narkoseroboter, der sich verselbständigt. Jene Geschichte, "Requiem" von Karl Wolfgang Flender, ist aktuell für den Deutschen Science Fiction Preis nominiert. Utopie? Dystopie? Entscheidet selbst. Hier geht’s zur Verlagsseite.

In „Speculative Everything“ schlagen Anthony Dunne und Fiona Raby eine Art Design vor, mit dem nicht nur Dinge, sondern auch Ideen geschaffen werden können. Für sie ist Design ein Mittel, um darüber zu spekulieren, wie die Dinge sein könnten – wie sich mögliche Zukünfte darstellen. Die Autoren stellen "Was-wäre-wenn"-Fragen, die eine Debatte und Diskussion darüber eröffnen sollen, was für eine Zukunft die Menschen wollen (und was sie nicht wollen).

Zum Mitmachen

“The Thing from the Future” ist ein Fantasiespiel, das dich herausfordert, Objekte aus einer Reihe alternativer Zukünfte zu beschreiben. Ziel des Spiels ist es, unterhaltsame, aber zum Nachdenken anregende hypothetischer Objekte aus möglichen Zukünften zu generieren. Hier erfährst du mehr über das Spiel des SITUATION LAB. Oder du legst gleich los mit der kostenfreien Print-and-Play-Ausgabe:

Unter dem Hashtag #FuturiumSchule haben wir eine Anleitung veröffentlicht, in dem du dein Objekt der Zukunft ganz einfach selbst bauen kannst. Hier gibt’s das Arbeitsblatt dazu:

kling klang klong und die KI-Musik

Schon mal ein Orchester dirigiert? Oder mit einem Profi um die Wette improvisiert? Mit drei Stationen im Futurium Lab geben kling klang klong selbst musikalischen Laien eine clevere Starthilfe und lassen jeden von uns ganz einfach per Wink, Knopfdruck oder Klaviatur kreativ werden. Ihr Helfer und Star: Künstliche Intelligenz (KI).

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Bild wird geladen.

Foto: Projektteam Kling Klang Klong via Futurium / David R.

Das ist eine Art und Weise, wie KIs Kreativprozesse unterstützen. Auf welche anderen Arten können künstliche und menschliche Intelligenz gemeinsam kreativ werden?

Zum Anschauen

Seht hier, wie ihr im Futurium mit den Exponaten von kling klang klong kreativ werden könnt:

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Was kann Künstliche Intelligenz eigentlich? Wie kreativ ist sie, und stellt sie am Ende vielleicht sogar Künstler*innen aus Fleisch und Blut in den Schatten? Künstler*innen und Expert*innen tauschen sich aus – auf dem Global Media Forum der Deutschen Welle.

Ivan P. Yamshchikov ist Mathematiker und Physiker am Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik in den Naturwissenschaften in Leipzig. Im Campus Talk der ARD spricht er darüber, wie er Robotern Kreativität beibringt und sie sogar Gedichte schreiben lässt:

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Zum Anhören

Für die Musikbranche bringen neuronale Netze weitgreifende Veränderungen. Ein paar Klicks, und schon komponiert ein Algorithmus ein klassisches Streichquartett wie von Franz Schubert. Versucht doch selbst einmal zu erraten, welchen Musikteil ein Computer und welchen ein Pianist geschrieben hat:

00:0000:00

Ok, unser nächstes digitales Exponat ist nichts für schwache Ohren. Death Metal – gespielt von einer Künstlichen Intelligenz. Die KI macht eben vor keiner Musikrichtung Halt. Hier könnt ihr das Stück Relentless Doppelganger im Livestream hören:

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Zum Lesen

Ja, Musik kann tatsächlich von Maschinen geschrieben werden, schreibt Claudia Birkholz, Dozentin für Klavier und zeitgenössische Musik in einem Beitrag für das Wissenschaftsjahr Künstliche Intelligenz. „Aber das muss uns keine Angst machen, denn was den Algorithmus-Künstlern dann doch noch fehlt ist die Kreativität, ist die Leidenschaft, ist die Empathie.“

Einen Streifzug durch die unterschiedlichen musikalischen Genres unternimmt Antonia Morin für BR Klassik.

Zum Mitmachen

Die Drum-Machine organisiert alltägliche Klänge durch maschinelles Lernen. Auf eine Karte sind ähnliche Sounds in unmittelbarer Nähe platziert. Wusstet ihr, dass sich das Schnauben eines Büffels ähnlich dem Schwingen einer Tür anhört? Wenn ihr die Marker über die Sounds fahren lasst, könnt ihr ganze Drum-Sequenzen entstehen lassen. Durch Scrollen oder Suchen nach einer allgemeinen Klangkategorie erhältst du ein Musikstück aus vier kombinierten Sounds. Probiert es aus, es lohnt sich!

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Sven Pfeiffer, Caroline Hoegsbro und Printed Tower

Ob Roboterarm, komplexe Sensorik oder Drohne, die Robotik erhält Einzug in den Architekturherstellungsprozess. Digitale Entwurfs- und Fertigungsmethoden verändern die konstruktiven und gestalterischen Möglichkeiten. Unser Projekt Printed Tower betrachtet zukünftige Möglichkeiten der Architekturgestaltung- und Produktion aus verschiedenen Perspektiven.

Zum Lesen

Ingenieur*innen, Architekt*innen und Designer*innen arbeiten an vielversprechenden Ansätzen, um Gebäude und Städte nicht nur umweltfreundlicher, sondern auch flexibler und menschenfreundlicher zu machen. Erfahrt hier mehr über die Zukunft der Architektur.

Jenseits der dekorativen Keramikfliesen hat sich eine reiche Kultur von Anwendungen keramischer Baumaterialien entwickelt. So umfassend, dass drei Harvard-Professoren darüber ein Buch geschrieben haben. Ceramic Material Systems heißt es. Multifunktionale Produkte werden darin als ganzheitliches Ökosystem von der Materialgewinnung und Produktgestaltung über den Entwurfsprozess und die konstruktive Umsetzung bis hin zur Wiederverwendung dargestellt.

Zum Anschauen

In unserem Videoporträt lernt ihr das Projekt Printed Tower und seine Schöpfer*innen kennen:

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.

Die so genannte additive Fertigung eröffnet neue Perspektiven bei der Planung und Fertigung von Bauwerken. Dreidimensionale Bauteile können mithilfe dieser Technik nach vorher festgelegten Maßen und Formen computergesteuert und ohne spezielles Werkzeug hergestellt werden. Die TU München forscht an gleich zwei Verfahren. Seht selbst:

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.


Zum Hören

Roboter haben schon immer fasziniert. Markus Knapp sendet mit seinem Team den Podcast Robotiklabor, den n ach eigenen Angaben größtenPodcast rund um Robotikthemen, und gibt seine Erfahrung, Tipps und Tricks weiter. In Folge 111 geht es etwa um den kleinsten mikroelektronischen Roboter der Welt und einen laserunterstützten Sandwich-Stapler. Ihr seht, es die Themen sind vielfältig. Im Interview mit den Macher*innen des Zukunftsarchitekten-Podcast erklärt Knapp, was ihn an der Robotik fasziniert.

Die Keramik ist eine wichtige Erfindung der Menschheit. Bereits im siebten Jahrtausend v. Chr. fertigte man im Vorderen Orient Gefäße aus Lehm und Wasser zur Aufbewahrung von Flüssigkeiten und Getreide, sowie zum Garen von Speisen. Hört hier die ganze Geschichte:

00:0000:00

Die Geschichte der Keramik

Zum Mitmachen

In diesem Video lernst du, wie du einen einfachen Roboterarm selber bauen kannst. Einfacher Roboterarm? Klingt erstmal gar nicht so einfach. Aber das Team der Electronics Hub erklärt es Schritt für Schritt. Die Anleitung findest du zudem hier (Englisch).

Bitte einen Moment Geduld. Das Video wird geladen.